A Milestone and an Announcement

The Doctor: Oh, you know what I always say about plans.

Clara: What?

The Doctor: I don’t have one!

I don’t often post updates about my podcast on this blog because I figure that those who are interested will wander over there and the rest of you don’t need weekly spam in your inbox. However, I do want to plug our latest episode as it has several points of interest.

For those of you who don’t know, I co-host a weekly podcast called Kat and Curt’s TV Re-View. Myself and fellow literature student/blogger Curtis Weyant are watching the entirety of the new series of Doctor Who as well as Joss Whedon’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel and discussing them, episode by episode, on a weekly basis. We’ve been doing this for some time, in fact. Two years, to be precise.

Our latest episode, titled somewhat facetiously (there’s no call for it) “Hold Tight and Pretend It’s a Plan“, celebrates both our second anniversary and 100th episode. If you’ve never listened to our show, this would be a great entry point. We abandon regular episode discussion for a special debate of the issues of canon and continuity in Who and Buffy, as well as touch on several other franchises like Star Wars and the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Even if you’re only interested in the broader issues of world-building and the management of multimedia (and multi-million dollar) franchises, this should hopefully be an interesting listen.

The other notable thing is that we begin with a very special announcement, which I may as well share here. Our plan projects that while we have enough Buffy & Angel to last us a few more years, we will be running out of episodes of the new series of Doctor Who sometime around the new year. When this happens, our plan is two-fold. First, we will be starting semi-regular discussions of the classic series of Doctor Who. We’re not quite sure yet how often or what format these will take, but rest assured Whovians that we won’t be abandoning the Doctor anytime soon.

More definitely, our regular weekly episode discussions of Doctor Who will be filled by an episode by episode journey through the reboot of Battlestar Galactica. This will be quite a change in many ways, the biggest being that we will not hold the positions of “expert” and “newbie” quite as neatly as we’ve had before. In fact, Curtis saw BSG before I did. I have, however, watched it closely quite recently, and so it will likely be fresher for me than for him, so that should hopefully be an interesting twist to our normal dynamic. In other ways, the transition should work quite smoothly: There is some thematic similarity here as both Who and BSG stand as excellent post-millennial reboots of classic mid-century cult sci-fi TV. In tone, of course, they couldn’t be more different, so that should be fun. Of the various alternative shows we discussed doing, this is the one I’m most excited about, and it’s dulling the pain of the impending end** of Nu Who somewhat.

That’s all for now. For those of you who’ve listened to the podcast (whether I know you or not) thank you! For those of you who haven’t, well. Now’s the time.

**This is not true, of course. There is no end of Doctor Who, and I feel confident that we’ll come back to Who at some point in the future to catch up with new seasons.

About Katherine Sas

I graduated from Messiah College in 2009 with a B.A. in English Literature. I'm a student of all things arts and humanities, in particular Tolkien, the Inklings, and the fantastic and imaginative tradition in storytelling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Milestone and an Announcement

  1. IsobelA says:

    Oh, this is exciting! I’d kind of abandoned the podcast because I was so frustrated by Doctor Who and, whilst I adore Buffy, I never really watched Angel (apart from the crossover episodes, and most of the final series, which didn’t make me want to go back and watch the beginning). Anyway! I love BSG and am currently halfway through a re-watch myself (I just finished Exodus Part 2 last night). Looking forward to jumping back in to the podcast again 🙂

Leave a Reply

