It never rains but it pours

I wanted to make a quick announcement about (for me) some very exciting news. I am now officially an author of two — count ’em, two — chapters in published books.

The first is volume II of Unlocking Press’ Harry Potter for Nerds series which presents “Essays for Fans, Academic, and Lit Geeks” on J.K. Rowlings beloved series. Unlocking Press is the publishing arm of John Granger’s Hogwarts Professor blog, probably the source of the best Harry Potter scholarship out there. You can see Granger’s announcement post here, buy the book here, check out the official book launch page here, and even listen to the book’s editor Travis Prinzi of the Hogs Head website talk about the book here. If you’re unfamiliar with this crowd, I’m really in some esteemed company here. Granger and Prinzi have written several fantastic books between them. The book is co-edited by Kathryn McDaniel of Marietta College. Other contributors include Dr. Amy H. Sturgis and my fellow Mythgard Institute students Emily Strand, Laura Lee Smith, Kelly Orazi, and Kris Swank. My chapter is a character analysis of Lupin in The Prisoner of Azkaban.

Secondly, the follow-up to Open Court’s Doctor Who and PhilosophyMore Doctor Who and Philosophy: Regeneration Time — will be published on November 17, 2015. You can see and buy the book here. Edited by Courtland Lewis (University of Alabama) and Paula Smithka (University of Southern Mississippi), this is the latest in the Pop Culture and Philosophy series, which are always a lot of fun. Check out the official publisher webpage here. My chapter looks at the alchemical themes of the Russell T. Davies fourth series episode “Midnight.”

I’m not great a promoting my own stuff, but if anyone ends up reading my chapters or the full books come leave me a comment and tell me what you think!

About Katherine Sas

I graduated from Messiah College in 2009 with a B.A. in English Literature. I'm a student of all things arts and humanities, in particular Tolkien, the Inklings, and the fantastic and imaginative tradition in storytelling.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It never rains but it pours

  1. Dianne Sedgman-Cooper says:

    Congratulations Katherine. It is great to see you and other Mythguardians sharing their thoughts and insights in print. I have been a Doctor Who almost since it began. I look forward to your comments they open up new ways to understand the series I never would have thought of.

  2. tphillman says:

    Congratulations, Kat. I’ve read enough of your writing already to know how good both of these chapters are. It’s a wonderful feeling, isn’t it?

  3. Well done! Thrilled to be watching all this take place.

  4. Mary Doane says:

    Congratulations, Katherine! We’re very proud of you and look forward to reading both.

Leave a Reply

